Call for Abstracts

Abstract submission has ended.
Notification of abstract acceptance will be sent by the end of February, 2019.

NB! Notifications of abstract acceptance have been sent to all by e-mail. If you have not received the notification, kindly contact us:

  • Due to unexpected technical problems, we have extended the abstract submission deadline to 17th January. Please note that you are able to modify your submission until the deadline by using your personal submission code. If you experience any problems, contact us by email ( Apologies for the inconvenience!
  • Abstract submission system will be open from 1st December 2018 to 17th January 2019, 11.59 pm (Central European Time)
  • We welcome abstracts on all aspects of aphasia (400–600 words excluding the titles and references)

The Nordic Aphasia Conference 2019 organisation committee strongly encourages scientists and clinicians to submit abstracts on aphasia and related acquired neurogenic communication disorders (e.g., progressive aphasias, apraxia of speech, cognitive-communicative disorders) to be presented either as oral or poster presentations in the conference. We would like to emphasise that studies with healthy individuals as well as clinical pilot studies and clinical experiments which might not meet all scientific standards but bear potential to inform future studies and clinical practice are warmly welcomed.

Notification of abstract acceptance and its category (oral or poster) will be posted by the end of February, 2019. Please also note that the priority of oral presentations is given to scientific studies on the theme of the conference (i.e., multilingualism or technology-mediated aphasia therapy) and which have clear clinical implications. Accepted abstracts will be published in the conference proceedings booklet that will be available at the conference for all registered attendees. Please note that the presenter of the abstract must register for the conference.

For detailed instructions: Call for abstracts and instructions for authors

If you have any questions, please contact us via email:

Scientific committee:

Kati Renvall (chair, University of Turku, Finland), Matti Lehtihalmes (University of Oulu, Finland), Anu Klippi (University of Helsinki, Finland), Anna-Maija Korpijaakko-Huuhka (University of Tampere, Finland), Pirkko Rautakoski (Åbo Akademi University, Finland), Jytte Isaksen (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark), Ida Luotonen (University of Turku, Finland) and Nana Lehtinen (University of Turku, Finland)